I lost my Mojo

I’m ill. It’s just a cold but I can hardly talk. It has forced me to stay at home, away from work.

We recently got Netflix and I’m watching Chef’s Table, the one with Christina Tosi and I’m cooking. Because I want to cook, not because I need to cook. This feeling has been lost for the past month and I feel a bit more like my old self.

I backed away from social media, finding the pressure of posting perfect looking food stifling. It was taking away the fun and evaporating the enjoyment of cooking. I haven’t been able to come back until now. I didn’t have anything to say.

Christina says that you are allowed to be anything you want to be and no one gets to tell you any different. This show has re-ignited my love for cooking and made me remember what I love about it or maybe it’s the fact that I’m ill and impressionable.

I am currently making roasted tomato soup, with fresh tomatoes, garlic, olive oil and herbs to which I will add shop bought tomato and mozzarella tortellini, agave roasted bacon and parmesan crumble. Experimenting with new flavours and pushing my boundaries in the kitchen.

I have been cooking some Chrissy Recipes too but even that has started to feel fake and I seem to have forgotten all the reasons I am doing this challenge. I will still continue cooking my way through the book, but am not sure whether I will make my target of finishing the book by the end of the year.

The point I have come to realise is that if you are not doing something for yourself then there is no point in doing it at all. Your heart won’t be in it.

I will be taking it easy in the social media world, keeping a healthy balance of real life and the perfect reality which we all create and share with the rest of the world.

Remember, it’s the simple pleasures in life, finding the extraordinary in the mundane and being true to who you that count, rather than the amount of likes you get on a picture from strangers.

Chloe

xoxo

Leave a comment