Biscuit Series: Peanut Butter Biscuits

Hi Everyone,

As the weather in England is unable to decide on weather it’s winter or spring, and I’m so used to having a wet head that I don’t even bother wearing a raincoat or using an umbrella. The crap weather has given way to inspiration in a form I am usually unskilled in: baking.

I thought I would test myself and do a ‘biscuit series’, 5 recipes over the course of the week and I will of course incorporate a gluten free and vegan recipe in my 5 biscuits.

We need to thank Jessie Sheehan an awesome woman and face behind the Vintage Baker Cookbook for the inspiration behind this series. A month ago she sent me a recipe for her Silver Cake which I made for my dad’s birthday. It was literally the best cake I’d ever made. This coming from the girl who once made a Betty Crocker Devils Food Chocolate Cake for one of Charles’ birthday’s and passed it off as my own! I even bought the icing!!

Making peanut butter biscuits with my sister’s when we were kids, is such a strong memory for me that I couldn’t not start with this winner of a recipe! What’s more my sister’s used to call me ‘Peanut Butter Brain’ because I, Chloe White, am addicted to peanut butter. Yum!

20180502_175250

Peanut Butter Biscuits                                                                     makes 12 Biscuits

Ingredients

40g Butter, soft

60g Smooth Peanut Butter

80g Granulated Sugar

100g Flour

Pinch of Salt

1/4tsp Bicarbonate Soda mixed with

1tbsp Milk

1/2tsp Vanilla Extract

20ml Vegetable Oil

Method

  • Preheat oven to 150°C (300°F)
  • Beat the butter, peanut butter and sugar together until combined.
  • Add the oil and mix until incorporated.
  • Sift in the flour, and salt into your wet ingredients and then add the bicarbonate soda and milk mixture. Mix until fully incorporated.
  • Shape into walnut sized balls onto a baking sheet lined with greaseproof paper. Pressing down onto each biscuit with a fork.
  • Bake for 25 minutes until golden brown. If still undercooked, leave in oven for 5 minutes with the oven off.
  • Leave biscuits to cool on a wire rack.

This recipe can easily be doubled to make more, which is probably a good idea as the batch I made hasn’t even lasted a day!

20180502_190432.jpg

Keep your eyes peeled for a new recipe tomorrow..

Chloe

Leave a comment